Categories
None (yet)
Posted by trapped-kiwi 9 years ago.

Declaring NZ bankruptcy while living in Australia

Hi all, I'm a from NZ, living in Australia and I'm very close to completing my bankruptcy with Kristina who has been very helpful with the process. For those who have completed the bankruptcy through Kristina - can you tell me how your joint accounts (if any) were affected? Kristina has advised that anything over $1000 NZ will be at risk. I understand that I am unable to save during the bankruptcy, but as a contractor, I'll need more than $1000.00 in my account. Sydney is expensive, and there have been months where I have been without work in the past. A cap of $1000.00 would make life very difficult, not only for periods of unemployment, but for unexpected bills. For example, last year I had an operation on my leg for over $2000.00. Would this be seen as "savings" by the OA? Therefore, just how much is deemed "too much". $10,00? $30, 000? etc? How is this assessed, and how regularly would this be monitored? Annually, monthly or adhoc? Thanks for your advice.

4 replies, the latest on 04 October 2021.
Reply from kiwiinoz 9 years ago.

Hi - from what I gather, they can request a statement from you at any point. But it's not actually monitored as such - as for the NZ Govt to get access to your AU bank accounts they'd need to go through the courts.

I'm just about to go down the same route, before the IRD gets a chance to ruin my life... Has your credit score etc been effected in any way in Australia? And if you've got a car, which you probably do given you're a contractor - are you OK to keep it?

Reply from tryinytostartover 8 years ago.