Categories
None (yet)
Posted by kelsey 13 years ago.

On moving to Australia do nz citizens qualify for family assistance?

My partner and i are currently discussing moving to Auzi... We are both young (19) and have two sons (1 and 2). I am a full time Massey student and from my understanding can continue my studies in Auzi. As i study full time i do not work only my partner does. we recieve family tax credits, in work tax credits, accomidation supplement and childcare assistance. Can we apply for these in Auzi? How does the assistance compare with nz? Is there a stand down period? Some1 help me out plz

12 replies, the latest on 11 February 2017.
Reply from griselda 13 years ago.

Hi there,

Yes, Kiwis qualify for most family assistance payments in Australia and there is no stand-down period - as far as I know you can apply straight away.

You can find all the info about how to apply and what they cover here: http://www.familyassist.gov.au/payments/family-assistance-payments/

This is a really helpful guide also that takes you through all the payments and how they work: http://www.centrelink.gov.au/internet/internet.nsf/publications/fpr011.htm

I'm not up to date on the NZ assistance options, so I can't offer any help on how they compare sorry!

Reply from hailz420 13 years ago.

hi my partner and i are also discussing moving to australia at the moment and are trying to weigh up if its cheaper to live there with living costs such as,rent,gas,food,power, health, and whether you can get any family assistance or do you have yo be an australian citizen? any info would be really appreciated :}

Reply from mike-in-oz 12 years ago.

You can get family assistance - this is thru centerlink. Apply online, fill out all the required docs etc even before you get a tax number, just provide the tax number later, (you have 28 days to complete the application with centerlink)