Categories
None (yet)
Posted by cell1 13 years ago.

Is there a difference between holidaying in Australia and moving over with a criminal conviction?

A few years ago I did the stupidest thing in my life and stole from my employer, and as a result I now have a conviction for theft in a special relationship. I have a family function to attend in Sydney for a weekend in January. Do I need to write to the Australian Consulate for permission to enter? And is this crime considered bad enough for me to be refused entry?

3 replies, the latest on 22 December 2010.
Reply from graciedeska 13 years ago.

Hi, there are instructions on the Australian High Commission website about what to do in this situation here: http://www.australia.org.nz/wltn/VisaFAQ.html#criminal It seems like this applies to all visits to Australia, whether temporary or permanent. From what I have read they'll probably let you in unless you have been in prison for 12 months or more - however I'm not an expert on the subject!

Reply from cell1
OP
13 years ago.

Thanks Grace,

I did just that and sent my letter of to NZ police Vetting Centre for them to send my record to the Australian High Commision. I just got my letter from the High Commision stating that there shouldn't be a problem with me obtaining a SCV and entering the country. I have to show this letter to Customs in Australia and then I can get to see my Family :) Thanks for the help!

Reply from chairbro 13 years ago.

Hi there. This is an issue that we deal with every time we go into Aus, so I'm happy to offer some of my experiences on this one.