Categories
None (yet)
Posted by auscalling 8 years ago.

Im an NZ Citizen, lived in Aus from 1985-2000 Can I get a returning PR visa?

I lived in Aus for almost 15yrs and married an Australian and had 4 children there. I returned back to NZ for support when my marriage ended and got stuck. My children have since returned to Aus and I want to join them. I work as a Mental Health Nurse so therefore jobs are not an issue. But am I able to get a returning PR visa? As I would have been considered a PR before I left.

5 replies, the latest on 22 August 2016.
Reply from adaz 8 years ago.

There is a resident return visa (RRV) for Kiwis who first arrived in Australia before 1 September 1994. You should apply for this visa in Australia.

If you were in Australia on 26 February 2001 or for 12 months in 2 year period before 26 February 2001 then you would be a Protected Special Category Visa holder on arrival.

Contact ozkiwi or iwinaus on Facebook or via their websites for further information and advice.

Reply from matthew-c 8 years ago.

HI, there, what is Protected Special Category Visa holder? I am kiwi and had lived in Australia for a year time in 1997. I did applied and had the Medicare card at that time. Can I renew my Medicare card once I return to Australia in Oct., 2016? Am I a permanent residence as I had landed and stayed there before Feb., 2001?

Hi Matthew C,

A Protected Special Category Visa holder is a person who travelled to Australia on a New Zealand passport and was in Australia on 26 February 2001 or for 12 months in the two years before that date ( between 27 February 1999 to 25 February 2001).

A Protected SCV has more rights such as: Can apply for Australian citizenship after 4 years without having to hold a permanent visa first Right to disability benefits and disability services Right to sponsor someone for permanent visa Right to Headstart Allowances (dole) Right to HECS (student loans)