Categories
None (yet)
Posted by frustrated 16 years ago.

Is there any way to get around the application fee for a Permanent Residence Visa?

I have lived in Australia for the past 7 years on the Special Category Visa (SCV)and have just been made redundant. I am unable to get government help unless I become a Permanent Resident, which costs $2000. Clearly I can't afford this and I find it ridiculous that I've been paying taxes for 7 years and am unable to get anything back. I would think that once I'd been here for 10 years I would automatically become a Permanent Resident, but I can't seem to find this information anywhere. If anyone has any ideas or knows anything, please let me know.

6 replies, the latest on 10 August 2010.
Reply from kiwi 16 years ago.

When did you arrive in Australia? if you arrived before changes occured on the 26th of Feb 2001, then you are considered a permanent resident for social security purposes. You may still be a permanent resident for social security purposes (i.e. you can get unemployment benefits) if you arrived within 3 months of that day, but I think you need to have applied for a certificate from Centrelink.

If you do not meet those requirements, you will need to apply for a permanent visa, which would cost $2k+. I don't think you can avoid the fee unfortunately. And even after 10 years, you won't be considered a permanent resident for social security and citizenship purposes. It just means that it's harder to deport you back to NZ since you have lived in Australia for so long.

Reply from diane 15 years ago.

I am in the process of getting a permanent visa as I arrived may 2001 and yes it costs and arm & leg. Luckly with all 3 kids under 18 I can get them on my visa at no extra cost.

Reply from ukkoru 15 years ago.